Plan Commission

About the Commission
The Plan Commission consists of the Mayor, who shall be the presiding officer, one Alderperson, City Administrator, and five citizens. 


  • The Master (Comprehensive) Plan: The Plan Commission may make, adopt and, as necessary, amend, extend and add to the master plan, subject to City Council confirmation, for the physical development of the City including areas outside of it's boundaries which, in the Plan Commission's judgement, bear relation to the development of the City. 
  • Mandatory Referrals to Commission: The City Council having final authority thereon shall refer to the Plan Commission, for its consideration and report before final action is taken by the Council, public body or officer, the following matters:
    1. the location of any statue or other memorial;
    2. the location, acceptance, extension, alteration, vacation, abandonment, change of use, sale, acquisition of land for or lease of land for any street, alley or other public ways, park, playground, airport, area for parking vehicles, or other memorial or public grounds;
    3. the location, extension, abandonment or authorization for any public utility whether publicly or privately owned;
    4. all plats of lands in the City or within the territory over which the City is given platting jurisdiction by Chapter 236, Wis. Stats.;
    5. the location, character and extent or acquisition, leasing or sale of lands for public or semi-public housing, slum clearance, relief of congestion, or vacation camps for children; and the amendment or repeal of any land use ordinance.
  • Miscellaneous Powers: The Commission may make reports and recommendations relating to the plan and development of the City to public officials and agencies, public utility companies, civic, educational, professional and other organization and citizens. It may recommend to the Common Council programs for public improvements. 


Name Term Expiration Phone Number
Paul Isakson, Mayor 2022 715-268-2852
Mike Karuschak, Chairperson 2021 715-268-7401
Vacant 2021 -
Dain Lyon 2023 715-554-0319
Stan Proden 2022 612-867-0044
Paul Shafer 2023 715-381-3864
Linda Millermon 2022 715-268-7902


Planning Commission meetings are held on the 4th Thursday of each month at 9:00 AM at City Hall.

More Information

An aerial view of buildings in downtown Amery